Town Council

First Warden Keith Stover    email

Second Warden Martha Ball  email

Councilor  Neal Murphy  email

Councilor  Margaret O'Neill  email

Councilor Tristan Payne email

Established in 1664 and incorporated by Home Rule Charter on October 30, 1672, the Town of New Shoreham has a Council-Manager form of government.

Pursuant to Article IV of the Town Charter, Town Council is comprised of five (5) members, a First Warden, Second Warden and three Town Councilors, all elected at-large from the Town each even numbered year for a two-year term.

Meetings Calendar   

Regular Town Council meetings are generally held at the Town Hall or other designated locations. The Town Council conducts business by making policy statements, motions, passing ordinances and Resolutions and otherwise taking official action on all Town matters. Citizens are encouraged to participate and may address the Town Council during public input which has been designated on all regular meeting agendas for the public to express ideas, concerns, and comments on issues not listed on the agenda.

Council work sessions are generally held on the first Wednesday of the month. Work Sessions are used to study issues, receive reports and data on assignments and special projects, informally review staff and development proposals, discuss Town services, evaluate existing programs and carry out other study-related work not generally requiring official action by the Town Council.    

Agendas and Minutes & Home Rule Charter

Meeting agendas are posted prior to the meeting according to State law and meeting minutes are available following Town Council approval at a subsequent meeting.  Both are available on the Town's ClerkBase page, along with the Home Rule Charter and other key Town documents. 

Related Documents